The premier award in college football has largely been held by quarterbacks and running backs. Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith changed all of that as he was named winner of the 2020 Heisman Trophy, becoming the first receiver to be named college football’s best player in 29 years.

Smith is the third player from Alabama to claim college football’s most prestigious award and the first receiver to win it since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991.

Smith beat out three other finalists Alabama’s Mac Jones, Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence and Florida’s Kyle Trask.

Smith received 447 first-place votes (1,856 total points). Lawrence (222 first-place votes, 1,187 points) finished second in the voting, followed by Jones (138, 1,130) and Trask (61, 737).